Release Radar Is A Weekly Roundup Of Artists Who Topped The Charts, Dropped New Music, Or Finally Released That Much Anticipated Album, Just In Case You Missed It.

Florida Georgia Line: “People Are Different,” Single

Although Florida Georgia Line crossed over onto the top pop songs charts in 2018 with their feature on Bebe Rexha’s song “Meant To Be,” they’re closing off 2019 with a classic country tune. “People Are Different” is FGL’s message for unity, acceptance and tolerance of all kinds of people. FGL’s latest release is a departure from the party anthem songs that catapulted the duo to fame. “People Are Different” has a lot of country twang layered over soft-rock drums and heavy guitar chords. The song carries a heavy message of embracing diversity, whether in a small country town or big city, but still manages to be a catchy and feel-good song you’d want to blast in your car with your windows rolled down (if only it wasn’t winter!) The song is the third single Florida Georgia Line has released off their upcoming album “Can’t Say I Ain’t Country,” releasing February 15, 2019.


Nipsey Hussle: Perfect Timing,” Single

Nipsey had quite the year. Attendee got the chance to see the rapper perform at Rolling Loud LA in December. His performance came only a few days after Nipsey Hussle was nominated for a Grammy for Best Rap Album for his debut album, “Victory Lap.” His latest song was leaked in early 2018, but fans are happy to have the completed version available to stream and download. In “Perfect Timing” the LA native lets the beat flow while rapping about the attention and accolades he got in 2018. Despite all his success, Nipsey Hussle acknowledges the mistakes he has made in his personal life that could have negatively impacted his career. “Perfect Timing” is the ideal end-of-year wrap-up for the rapper and we can’t wait to see what’s ahead for the first-ever Grammy nominee in 2019.


Maluma, Becky G, Anitta: Mala Mia (Remix),” Single

Maluma’s song “Mala Mia” already was a popular dance song before the remix version dropped. Now, with the addition of verses from two of Latin music’s biggest female names, “Mala Mia” is an upgraded, pro-feminist and pro-LGBTQA song that everyone can relate to and dance to. The original male-dominated song about living a carefree life with little regret gets boosted with the addition of Becky G and Anitta. The two Latin music stars’ verses share a similar sentiment — freedom and acceptance to do what they want, when they want. The “Mala Mia (Remix)” serves as the perfect closing-credits song for 2018.

Shawn Mendes: The Album (Remixes)”

Like the true millennial he is, Shawn Mendes took to Instagram to announce to his fans that an album featuring remixes of some of his favorite songs would soon be released. “The Album (Remixes)” is a three-song EP featuring Leon Bridges, Khalid, Jessie Reyez, and Kaytranada. The release of these remixed works come as a bookmark for the epic year for the singer. Mendes received his first ever Grammy nominations earlier this month for Best Pop Album and a nom for Song of the Year for “In My Blood.” The three songs featured in “The Album (Remixes)” are soothing pop-ballads that have new life with R&B mixing, more electronic feels and warm vocals from Bridges and Kaytranada. Jessie Reyez joins Khalid and Mendes for the remix of “Youth” and sings new lyrics that add a lovely third harmony to the original duo. This album definitely fought with the classic Christmas music for playing rights over the holidays.


Post Malone: “Wow.,” Single

Just in time for the holiday, Post Malone dropped his new single “Wow.” as well as an accompanying animated video for the song. In the “Wow.” video Post Malone appears, face tattoos and all, as an animated elf moving through space on a candy-cane rocket and dancing with other tattooed elves. “Wow.” carries the familiar, easy-to-bop-along-to Posty beat. The lyrics refer to his blast into superstardom and all the money and gossip that comes along with being a famous rapper. “Wow.” is Post’s first solo release since his sophomore album “Beerbongs and Bentleys” came out this past spring. Post never took a step back this year; he also released a song with Swae Lee for the “Spider-Man: Into The Spider Verse” movie a few months ago, and he headlined at Rolling Loud LA in December.


Sam Smith: “Fire on Fire,” Single

So many musical gifts under the Christmas tree this year. Sam Smith teamed up with Netflix and BBC to create a powerful and emotional ballad for the new adaptation of “Watership Down.” Though Smith has appeared on singles with Calvin Harris and Brandi Carlile, “Fire on Fire” is the English singer’s first release since 2017. “Watership Down,” released to Netflix on December 23, is an adaptation of the 1972 Richard Adams novel that follows a herd of rabbits on their quest of survival and adventure in southern England. Smith uses his powerful acoustics to bring to life fiery lyrics, which he co-wrote with Steve Mac. “Fire on Fire” is a timeless song to accompany a timeless story of all the trials and tribulations a fearless pack of rabbits endures to survive. See a preview of Watership Down with “Fire on Fire” playing in the background here. Warning: if you’re an animal lover, this video may bring on some tears.

ZAYN: “Icarus Falls,” Single

It has been nearly two years since the English singer Zayn dropped new music, but he is back with the release of his 27-track album, “Icarus Falls.” Ever since his departure from One Direction in 2015, Zayn’s music has been a knotted mash-up of R&B love songs with heavy drum beats, similar in tone to the pop music that engulfed the beginning of his career in the early 2000s. Zayn’s music has matured since his One Direction days — and he wants people to take note. His vocals are clearly on display throughout each track on “Icarus Falls.” The album seems to be a diary of the last couple years, come to life through song. He takes the listener through the inner workings of his mind, and his heart. Each song on the album shares a similar moodiness that’s heightened by drawn-out drum beats or a powerful piano loop. “Icarus Falls” proves that Zayn is in control of his sound and that he’s no longer a member of a boyband.


21 Savage: “i am > i was,” Album

Hailing from East Atlanta, 21 Savage has already built quite a career following his first studio album, “Issa Album,” and countless features on chart-topping rap and pop songs. A few days before Christmas, he released his sophomore studio album, “i am > i was,” and two of the album’s songs, “A Lot” and “Monster,” have already made their way onto the Global Top 50 chart on Spotify. The album has a guest list full of rap’s A-list superstars, which will surely help boost 21 Savage’s popularity. Features on “i am > i was” include Childish Gambino, Post Malone, Offset and J Cole. Each of these rappers have incredibly different sounds, transforming 21 Savage’s album from just another trap-rap album to one with sounds that swerve in and out of R&B melodies, trap music and old-school rap beats. “I am > i was” shows 21 Savage has evolved his style of music by developing dynamic flows and new ways of mastering his sound.